Planning Tools

Make it Legal

One of the most frequently asked questions that the KC Weddings editor hears is, "How do I get a marriage license?" Well, here it is, short and simple. We've compiled a list of the counties in the metropolitan area and where you can find a marriage license, plus what ID you need to obtain it, how much it costs, and how long until it expires.

Once the license is obtained and the deed is done, brides will need to let everyone from doctors and dentists to employers know about any name change. Be prepared to change your drivers license and Social Security card, too.

A couple of tips: In most cases, a license obtained in one county can be used anywhere in the state. However, if you live in Missouri and are getting married in Kansas, you need a Kansas marriage license (or vice versa). Confused yet? Don't be. Just use the information below.

 

MISSOURI

Cass County

Recorder of Deeds Office, Marriage License Department
102 E. Wall, Harrisonville, MO
816-380-8121
816-380-8129 (recording)

Hours: 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday. Applicants must arrive by 4 p.m.
Identification: Driver's license or birth certificate. Proof of Social Security number required.
Cost: $51, cash only.
Notes: Both parties must be present to apply. License expires 30 days after receipt of license. If bride or groom were previously married, must provide the date that the marriage ended.

Clay County

Recorder of Deeds Marriage License Department
One Courthouse Square, Liberty, MO
816-407-3560

Hours: 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday
Identification: Photo ID and written proof of Social Security number required.
Cost: $51, cash only.
Notes: Both parties must be present to apply. License expires 30 days after receipt. If previously married, must provide the date that marriage ended.

Jackson County

Jackson County Courthouse 
Recorder of Deeds Office
415 E. 12th St., Room 104, Kansas City, MO
816-881-1577

Hours: 8 a.m.-5 p.m., Monday-Friday. Applicants must arrive by 4:45 p.m.
Identification: Driver's license, valid state ID card, U.S. passport, foreign passport, military ID, certified copy of U.S. birth certificate plus U.S. government-issued photo ID, government ID card with government issued ID number.
Cost: $50, cash, Visa, MasterCard or Discover.
Notes: Both parties must be present to apply. License expires 30 days from receipt of license. Required by law to return license if unused. If previously married, must provide the date that marriage ended.

-OR-

Historic Truman Courthouse 
Recorder of Deeds Department
112 W. Lexington, Suite 30, Independence, MO 64050
816-881-4608

Hours: 8 a.m.-5 p.m., Monday-Friday. Applicants must arrive by 4:45 p.m.
Identification: Driver's license, valid state ID card, U.S. passport, foreign passport, military ID, certified copy of U.S. birth certificate plus U.S. government-issued photo ID, government ID card with government issued ID number.
Cost: $50, cash, Visa, MasterCard or Discover.
Notes: Both parties must be present to apply. License expires 30 days after receipt of license. Required by law to return license if unused.

Platte County

Recorder of Deeds Office
415 Third St., Suite 70, Platte City, MO
816-858-3326

Hours: 8 a.m.-5 p.m., Monday-Friday. Applicants must arrive by 4:30 p.m.
Identification: Driver's license and photo ID required. Applicants must know Social Security numbers.
Cost: $51, cash only.
Notes: Both parties must be present to apply. License expires 30 days after receipt. If previously married, must provide the date that marriage ended. To schedule a ceremony, call 816-858-3434.
 

 

KANSAS

Douglas County

Douglas County District Court Clerk's Office
111 E. 11th St., Lower Level, Lawrence, KS
785-832-5227

Hours: 8 a.m.-5 p.m., Monday-Friday. Applicants must arrive by 4:30 p.m.
Identification: Driver's license or Social Security card. Photo ID required.
Cost: $85.50, cash only.
Notes: Either party can apply. Three-day waiting period. License expires after six months.

Johnson County

Johnson County Courthouse
Clerk of the District Court
100 N. Kansas Ave. Second Floor Rm 201,
Olathe, KS
913-715-3428

Hours: 8 a.m.-5 p.m., Monday-Friday
Identification: Driver's license and Social Security card.
Cost: $85.50, cash or credit card.
Notes: Either party can apply for the license. Three-day waiting period. License expires after six months. If previously married, you must state how and when last marriage ended.

Wyandotte County

Wyandotte County Courthouse
Marriage License and Probate Court
710 N. Seventh St., First Floor, Kansas City, KS
913-573-2834

Hours: 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday. Applicants must arrive by 4:15 p.m.
Identification: Driver's license, state ID, passport, birth certificate or Social Security card.
Cost: $85.50, cash only.
Notes: Either party may apply, but must have ID information for both. Three-day waiting period. License expires after six months.

 

 

Planning Your Wedding in Kansas City?

Search Local Vendors

KC Weddings Partner Login